Rally to Restore Sanity and/or Fear Open Thread.

Welcome to our open thread for the Rally to Restore Sanity and/or Fear.

All are welcome.

The rally will be live on Comedy Central and C-Span.

It will also be streamed at: http://www.comedycentral.com/

The start time is noon eastern/10 am mountain. (Update: the main program starts at 1pm eastern/11am mountain).

Here is the tentative schedule (times are eastern):

PRESHOW — 12 p.m. to 1 p.m.
12:00 – 12:40 — THE ROOTS will play for the crowd.
12:40 – 12:57 — Comedian (TBD) will warm-up the audience.
12:57 – 1:00 — Video countdown & intros
SHOW — 1 p.m. to 3 p.m.
1:00 – 1:05 SINGING OF THE NATIONAL ANTHEM — Musical guest (TBD)
1:05 – 1:20 JON STEWART welcomes the crowd
1:20 – 1:30 STEPHEN COLBERT enters
1:30 – 1:35 BENEDICTION by actor Don Novello
1:35 – 1:40 POEM read by actor Sam Waterson [note: Park Service spelling, not WaPo TeamTV’s]
1:40 – 1:50 JEFF TWEEDY & MAVIS STAPLES perform
1:50 – 2:15 JON & STEPHEN perform
2:15 – 2:20 SHERYL CROW performs
2:20 – 2:30 SPEAKERS Guests make brief statements, both LIVE and TAPE (TBD)
2:30 – 2:40 MUSICAL GUEST (TBD)
2:40 – 2:40 SANITY & FEAR awards – PRETAPED footage.
2:50 – 3:00 JON AND STEPHEN’S FINAL STATEMENTS

96 Replies to “Rally to Restore Sanity and/or Fear Open Thread.”

  1. I had not planned on watching this, feeling that it would just be some comedians making light of the problems we are facing, but I turned on the TV and Jon Stewart was speaking. Loved how centrist he was, that accusing each other of being too far left or too far right isn’t how we live our lives. Outstanding.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *